Cool Stuff To Own
 Most Popular  Baby  Books  Cameras  Computers  DVD  Blu-Ray  Electronics  Music  Software  Tools  Toys  Video Games 
 Kitchen  Outdoor  Apparel  Office Products  Food  Health & Personal Care  Jewelry  Beauty  Sporting Goods 
New!  Release Dates   Top 10 


The Immortalists

by Chloe Benjamin

See larger picture

List Price: $26.00
Our Price: $15.60
You Save: $10.40 (40%)

Eligible for Free Shipping
Learn more

Click here for more information

Looking for a deal?
Buy used and new starting at $7.89

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Release Date: January 9, 2018
Publication Date: January 9, 2018
Author: Chloe Benjamin
Package Dimensions (in inches): 1.3 x 8.94 x 5.98
Package Weight: 96 Hundredths Pounds
Item Dimensions (in inches): 9.31 x 6.19 x 1.12
Audio Tracks/Subtitles: English (Published), English (Original Language), English (Unknown)

Other Details

EAN: 9780735213180
Edition: First Edition
ISBN: 0735213186
Manufacturer: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 352



“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

“You won’t be able to put it down.”The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)

“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.”

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds. Review: An Amazon Best Book of January 2018:The Immortalists doesn’t seem like a second novel: it has all the unexpected brilliance of a debut hit, combined with the assured style and long-sighted wisdom you’d expect from an older, more experienced writer. But author Chloe Benjamin is – astonishingly -- only 28 years old, and her ambitious and deeply moving novel sets a high standard for realistic fiction in 2018 – and it’s only January. Benjamin tells the story of four teenage siblings who, on a lark, ask a fortuneteller to reveal the dates of their deaths. Whether that fortuneteller is a con artist or is genuinely gifted with second sight doesn’t interest Benjamin so much as how one piece of possibly spurious information conspires with character and circumstance to warp the siblings’ choices as they grow into adulthood. Along the way, Benjamin poses intriguing questions about the value of longevity and whether we are victims, or perpetrators, of our own fates. Though Benjamin is wary of magical thinking, her omniscient writing casts a masterful spell that will leave you eager to see what her third novel will bring. --Sarah Harrison Smith, Amazon Book Review

The Immortalists Customer Reviews

Related Products
The Anatomy of Dreams: A Novel
The Woman in the Window: A Novel
An American Marriage: A Novel (Oprah's Book Club 2018 Selection)
Grist Mill Road: A Novel
How to Stop Time
The Great Alone: A Novel
Girls Burn Brighter: A Novel
Little Fires Everywhere
The Wife Between Us: A Novel
The Hollow Land

Questions? Please contact the us.
For great deals visit: Best Deals and Discounts